Northern Virginia Bridge Association

American Contract Bridge League Unit 218

The Dave Murray Award winners

  • The Dave Murray Award was suggested by Marshall Kuschner and was established as an annual award to recognize a NVBA player who best personifies the ideals of skill and good sportsmanship and exhibits the characteristics of friendliness, courtesy, warmth, enthusiasm, humor and bridge skills at the table. These attributes were what made Dave Murray everyone's favorite partner. It was always a pleasure to have him at your table either as a partner or as an opponent.

    The first award for the year 2003 was made at the NVBA annual meeting in the Spring of 2004 with Andy Gabrilovitch as the first recipient. Up through the Spring of 2009 the award was presented for the previous year. Subsequently the NVBA Board decided to make the award in December at the annual holiday party in December for the current year. This policy was initiated in December 2009. Al Duncker's testimonial to Dave Murray

  • Picture of the trophy

    • 2017 Carolyn Gibson
    • 2016 Lynne Beresford (posthumous)
    • 2015 Bruce Houston
    • 2014 Vonnie Lavender
    • 2013 Mike Cappelletti (posthumous)
    • 2012 Nancy Loomis
    • 2011 Bob Boyd
    • 2010 Norma Pierzchala
    • 2009 Jean Levin
    • 2008 Bob Hartmann
    • 2007 Lorraine Yarmovich
    • 2006 Ed Gofreed
    • 2005 Jack Armstrong
    • 2004 Janet Gookin
    • 2003 Andy Gabrilovitch
NVBA - Northern Virginia Bridge Association ACBL Unit 218